Christmas in the Heart

I used to be a Grinch or perhaps a Scrooge, not that I hated Christmas, I just despised that it was commercialized and driven by consumerism.  I wished that the world would remember the true meaning of Christmas.

The Sunday after Thanksgiving I put some Christmas music on, the Christmas spirit entered into my heart. Suddenly I realized: Even if the world is taking Christ out the magical month of December, I will celebrate the birth of the Redeemer of the world. 

The decorations all around the community became a part of a month long celebration of the birth of the Son of God. The lights remind me that He is the light of the world. The occasional star or angel reminds me of His divinity. The displaying of evergreen trees reminds me of everlasting life granted through His grace.

So, even if the world will not outwardly commemorate the birth of the Savior, my heart will rejoice. The heart of the Holiday Season is Christ and Christmas can dwell in the heart.

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you.

John 14:26

Leave a Reply

